How to cure dry, chapped lips

With a whole range of lip products out there which ones are you meant to choose?

Most moisturising Lucas Papaw Ointment. It is thicker than the average lipbalm and lasts the longest. The smallest tube it comes in isn’t pocket-sized so that’s one for the handbag.

Best tasting Blistex Intensive Repair. It’s almost like a fruit tingles flavour – quite yummy and is very hydrating. My boyfriend likes this one the most because it moisturises well, protects the lips from the sun and can fit in his pocket.

Cheapest Vaseline Petroleum Jelly. This is the one I save for before bed to keep my lips hydrated through the night. I have to wear plates for my teeth, which can make my lips dry but the vaseline definitely does the job.

Stay away from

  • Nivea lip balms. The lips dried out very easily, leaving a dry residue which made your lips feel even more dry than before.
  • Blistex Ultra Lip Balm. Although the lip balm worked, it left the most foul taste in your mouth. I made my boyfriend throw this away because it was so hard kissing him!
  • Weaning yourself off lip balms. I heard of this method and being curious I tried it, but it just left my lips all chapped and dry.

How do you treat your dry lips?

My favorites

My favourites

Visit our new Health e Advice website now, with simple health information for you!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “How to cure dry, chapped lips”

  1. Home Remedies For Chapped Lips Says:

    Milk cream has proved to be valuable in treating dry chapped lips. It would remove the dry skin and also make the lips smooth.

  2. Pharmacist Millie Says:

    Hmm I haven’t tried that one before. I’m glad to see it works for you! Thanks for leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

